People & Programs

State contacts for Invasive Species Prevention and Control Programs and Interagency Groups

MISAC Co-Chairs

Angie Gupta, MISAC Chair
Extension Educator
University of Minnesota Extension
agupta@umn.edu
507-280-2869

Angelique Dahlberg, MISAC Co-Chair
Invasive Species Coordinator
St. Croix River Association
angeliqued@scramail.com
715-483-3300

Kathy Kromroy, MISAC Past Chair
Research Scientist, Pest Detection and Management Unit
Minnesota Department of Agriculture
kathryn.kromroy@state.mn.us
651-201-6343

Minnesota Department of Agriculture - Invasive Species Related Programs

The MDA is responsible for preventing new invasive terrestrial plant pests, the early detection of these pests and conduction rapid response to these detections. Examples of such species are gypsy moth, emerald ash borer, Asian longhorned beetle, potato cyst nematode, karnal bunt of wheat, and yellow starthistle. In addition, the Noxious and Invasive Weed Program addresses invasive plants that are injurious to public health, the environment, public roads, crops,  livestock, or other property.

  • Plant Protection Division Contacts
  • Pest Detection and Management Unit - Mark Abrahamson, mark.abrahamson@state.mn.us, 651-201-6505
  • MDA Weed Team
  • Noxious Weed Law - Tony Cortilet, anthony.cortilet@state.mn.us, 651-201-6538
  • Early Detection, Biological Control, and Data Management - Monika Chandler, monika.chandler@state.mn.us, 651-201-6537
  • Early Detection and Rapid Response - Emilie Justen, emilie.justen@state.mn.us, 651-201-6360
  • Gypsy Moth Unit - Kimberly Thielen Cremers, kimberly.tcremers@state.mn.us, 651-201-6329
  • Cooperative Agricultural Pest Survey - Jean Ciborowski, jean.ciborowski@state.mn.us, 651-201-6217

Department of Natural Resources – Invasive Species Program (Division of Ecological and Water Resources)

The goals of the Department of Natural Resource’s Invasive Species Program are to:

  • Prevent introductions of new invasive species into Minnesota.
  • Prevent the spread of invasive species within Minnesota.
  • Reduce the impacts caused by invasive species to Minnesota's ecology, society, and economy.

The DNR has regulatory authority of aquatic invasive plants and animals and terrestrial animals. The invasive species program works on prevention and management of aquatic and terrestrial plants and animals.

Department of Natural Resources - Forest Health Program (Forestry Division)

The DNR's Division of Forestry, working in cooperation with the MDA, is charged with surveying and controlling forest pests, including invasive organisms such as gypsy moth and several bark beetles.

Minnesota Sea Grant – Aquatic Invasive Species Information Center

The Aquatic Invasive Species Information Center at the University of Minnesota Sea Grant Program provides research, outreach, and education in collaboration with the DNR’s Invasive Species Program. The Center has served as an important resource on aquatic nuisance species (ANS) and provides information to the public to prevent and slow their spread.

  • Aquatic Invasive Species Program Coordinator - Duluth - Doug Jensen, djensen1@umn.edu, 218-726-8712
  • Environmental Literacy Extension Educator – Duluth – Marte Kitson, mkitson@d.umn.edu, 218-726-8305
  • AIS Program